Pickering, Nov. 29, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) --

The Organization of Canadian Nuclear Industries (OCNI) held its Annual General Meeting and AGM Lunch on November 29 at the Ajax Convention Centre.  

Jeff Lyash, Ontario Power Generation’s President and CEO, shared OPG’s long-term vision with the 150 OCNI members and guests attending the AGM Lunch. The vision includes maintaining excellence in plant operations and delivering the four-unit Darlington Refurbishment Project on time and on budget with an uncompromising focus on safety. Mr. Lyash also outlined OPG’s commitment to innovation, sustainability, and local economic development in all aspects of its operations. The Darlington Refurbishment Project, Canada’s largest infrastructure project, will create more than 10,000 quality jobs in Durham Region and in communities across Ontario.

Pickering Mayor Dave Ryan and Clarington Mayor Adrian Foster welcomed OCNI delegates and expressed their support for the nuclear industry and appreciation for the Durham region jobs created by the extended operation of six nuclear units at Pickering and the refurbishment of the four Darlington units. 

The annual OCNI Business Excellence Award winners were announced at AGM Lunch.  “I am proud to recognize OCNI member companies for their achievements exemplifying the strength and depth of Canada’s nuclear supply chain.” said OCNI President and CEO Ron Oberth. The award winners, as selected by the OCNI Awards Committee, are:

  • Export Award: Tyne Engineering for developing export opportunities for its customized radiation monitoring systems in North and South America, Europe, and Asia – accepted by Tyne President Vince Robinson
  • Customer Service AwardStrategic Insights (SI) for exceeding client expectations in developing unique business development strategies for entering the nuclear market – accepted by SI President Rosemary Yeremian
  • Innovation Award: Aecon for the application of 3D laser scanning and computer modelling to optimize fabrication quality and productivity for nuclear components – accepted by Aecon Technical Service Lead Chas Williams.

OCNI is pleased to announce that Martin Tulett of MVT Performance has been re-elected as Chair of its Board of Directors. OCNI members also approved the appointment of seven new and returning directors to the 13-member Board.  The full list of OCNI directors for 2017-18 includes:

  • Martin Tulett, MVT Performance, Chair
  • Brian Agnew, Mirion Technologies Canada, Vice Chair and Treasurer
  • Michele Cheng-Newson, Lakeside Process Controls, Secretary
  • Narinder Bains, ATS Automation
  • James Gandhi, Aecon
  • Jun Tang, BWX Technologies  
  • Doug Burton, DB2 Consulting  
  • Justin Hannah, SNC Lavalin
  • Walter Silva, Toshiba Industrial Products Canada
  • Gillian Baigorri, Kinectrics
  • Ahab Abdel-Aziz, Gowling WLG – newly appointed
  • Jack Scott, Alberici Constructors - newly appointed
  • Yung Hoang, AMEC Foster Wheeler - newly appointed


A photo accompanying this announcement is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/2c0ecc9e-d18b-4a9d-a1dc-a6a35d1d54e9


A photo accompanying this announcement is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/62cdfa48-6c3b-4fd4-8ca0-d1358b7a5491

Marina Oeyangen
Organization of Canadian Nuclear Industries

Ron Oberth
Organization of Canadian Nuclear Industries